One of the most dynamic ensembles of their generation, the Attacca have served as the Juilliard Graduate Resident String Quartet and the Quartet in Residence at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.

The evening showcases the monumental Beethoven Opus 132 paired with works by living composers. Featuring works by NYUAD composition students and faculty.

As stated by The Washington Post, “Mastery like this is scarce enough in quartets that have played together for decades.”

The Attacca Quartet currently serve as the Ensemble-in-Residence at the School of Music at Texas State University. They have released three albums to date on Grammy-winning Azica Records, all to critical acclaim.

Their 2013 Album, Fellow Traveler: the complete string quartet works of John Adams was honored with both the Arthur Foote Award from the Harvard Musical Association and the Lotos Prize in the Arts from the Stecher and Horowitz Foundation.

The program for the evening covers:

  • Valencia by Caroline Shaw
  • String Quartet No. 1 by Jakub A. Bartoszewski
  • Flowing Fire by Margarita Bicec
  • Quartet No. 2 by Leonid Kuzmenco
  • Quartet No. 1, Scherzo by Matthew Quayle
  • Intermission
  • String Quartet No. 15 in a minor, Opus 132
  • I Assai sostenuto – Allegro
  • II Allegro ma non tanto
  • III Heiliger Dankgesgang eines Genesenen an der Gottheit
  • IV Alla marcia, assai vivace
  • V Allegro appassionato-Presto

“Few [recent recordings] are as consequential as “Fellow Traveler,” …superb performances by the young Attacca Quartet” – The Boston Globe

“Exuberant, funky, and exactingly nuanced.” – The New York Times

In his Gramophone review of their 2015 recording of Haydn: Seven Last Words, Donald Rosenberg wrote “They triumph in every respect, and are captured in such vivid sound that no telling Haydn detail is allowed to go unheard.” The wrote “…It is easily the most satisfying string version of the work that I’ve heard.”